JUNE 19–23, 2016

Presentation Details

Name: (A08) MYX: MUST Correctness Checking for YML & XMP Programs
Time: Wednesday, June 22, 2016
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Room:   Analog 1+2
Messe Frankfurt
Breaks:10:00 am - 11:00 am Coffee Break
Presenter:   Hitoshi Murai, RIKEN/AICS
Abstract:   Toward exascale/exaflops computing, the programming environment is getting complicated by combination of several level and scheme. For example, we are still depending on MPI for most of distributed-memory parallel architecture and introduce other framework specified as MPI+X (X is OpenMP, CUDA, etc.).
RWTH Aachen in Germany has been developing an MPI base system named MUST with correctness checking feature of MPI programs. For variety of programming framework in MPI+X style, MUST can be applied for higher and more complicated frameworks. In this collaborative work, we focus on YML developed in Maison de la Simulation in France as a workflow description language and XcalableMP developed in RIKEN AICS and University of Tsukuba in Japan as a directive-based PGAS language, where both of them depend on their implementation over MPI. Our goal is to apply MUST feature to YML and XMP for correctness checking of user applications over them. It is also applicable for correctness of system implementation such as compiler or run-time system. This system is named MYX (MUST+YML+XcalableMP) under international collaboration among three countries.
For the XcalableMP programming under MUST, we can check the correctness of applications with race condition and ambiguity caused by nondeterminism. For YML, we can implement the system without error on system program level. Not just for individual combination of MUST+YML or MUST+XcalableMP, we will also develop a total programming system including all of them to provide well scheduled resource management and task execution environment suitable for very lage scale parallel computing for HPC.

Hitoshi Murai, RIKEN AICS; Taisuke Boku, University of Tsukuba; Matthias S. Müller, RWTH Aachen University; Christian Terboven, RWTH Aachen University; Joachim Protze, RWTH Aachen University; Pablo Reble, RWTH Aachen University; Serge G. Petiton, University of Lille 1, Nahid Emad, University of Versailles